16th European Bioenergetics Conference (EBEC)

The Conference was organized by the Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, the Polish Mitochondrial Network and the Bioenergetic Section of the Polish Biochemical Society. EBEC conferences are held bi-annually. The first edition was organized 30 years ago in Urbino. The three most recent conferences were hosted in Dublin, Moscow and Pisa. The Warsaw edition of the conference brought together over 530 researchers from all over the world.

Two Nobel Prize winners, Sir John Walker and Professor Hartmut Michel inaugurated the Conference. The EBEC2010 programme included the “Peter Mitchell Medal Lecture”, three special lectures (by Prof. Martin Klingenberg, Prof. Ernesto Carafoli and Prof. Vladimir Skulachev), 19 plenary lectures and 90 symposia lectures. During his lecture, Prof. Ernesto Carafoli was presented with the 2010 Nencki Award. Over 250 posters were displayed during the poster sessions. Two hot topic discussions and two methodology workshops also took place.

Nencki scientists actively participated in the Conference. Prof. Jerzy Duszynski delivered a plenary lecture, while Dr. Agnieszka Dobrzyń and Dr. Mariusz Wieckowski gave symposia lectures. Nencki researchers chaired a number of the Conference lecture sessions.

The Conference Organizing Committee was chaired by Prof. Jerzy Duszyński and Prof. Adam Szewczyk; Prof. Lech Wojtczak served as Honorary Chairman Assoc. Prof. Barbara Zabłocka from the Mossakowski Medical Research Centre of the Polish Academy of Sciences was the secretary and Assoc. Prof. Joanna Szczepanowska served as the treasurer.

Conference materials were published in the Biochimica and Biophysica Acta – Bioenergetics and FEBS Letters. Special editions of Mitochondrion and Molecular Membrane Biology journals will also be printed.

Date of publication
3 August 2010