Dr Artur Czupryn has been appointed as a member of the Council of Young Scientists

The Council of Young Scientists is an advisory body to the Ministry of opinions on the legal settlement of the Polish science sector and universities. The Minister Prof. Barbara Kudrycka proposed to create the Council during a meeting with leading young scientists, in mid December 2009. The Council consists of 21 members, who represent broad areas of science, diversity of research and academic institutions, and different aspects of scientific comunity.

The creation of this Council stems from recommendations that emerged from the strategic planning process, along with recognition of needs for better support of young researchers and for equal professional development of scientific society. The Council will bring together representatives across recommendations and opinions towards better scientific and inovation policy. Members of the Council were selected by the Ministry from the Scholarship Fellows of the Foundation for Polish Science, the Alumni Associations of the Polityka „Zostańcie z nami“ Fund, grantees of the L’Oreal/UNESCO Fellowship Fund for Women in Science.

According to the ministerial decree, a special task of the Council is to promote the career development of young scientists throughout identification of existing and future barriers to career development of young researchers, issuing recommendations for legal and institutional tools to assist the careers of young researchers, promote interactions of young scientists with academic institutions and business to effective implementation of innovative solutions. In addition, the Council may formulate opinions and recommendations about scientific and innovative issues.

We are also pleased to mention that Artur serves as the President of Scholarship Fellows of the Foundation for Polish Science.

A list of the Council for Young Science members is available at:

(according to PAP service and Ministry for Science and Higher Education website)

25 June 2010